top of page

Where I'm From Poem!


I am from Art.

Where the earth turns to clay and the flora turns to paint.

From the white backed canvas, to the oh so many layers of medium.

I use my brush and my imagination to create what I love.

Art is my place the place I call home.

I am from the great line of my grandmother,

The smell of the food from across the counter has the most exquisite taste.

The sensational feeling that makes it home,

Her hugs and laughter fill me with hope that has no need for haste.

Her past, her paintings, her mind; they make me, me.

I am from Norfolk, Virginia

Where the beaches are smooth and the air is salty,

From the Atlantic Ocean to the Chesapeake Bay.

Babies are screaming and crying in the St, De Paul

I take a deep breath and sink into my mother’s arms.

I am from the backroads and the dirt hills.

From cutting down Christmas trees, to shooting gophers.

Where my brother learned to ride a dirt bike and grandpa took us fishing.

Playing with the dogs in the back yard and climbing trees with our friends.

This is my home the place I am missing.

I am from Montana,

Where the mountains and rivers meet, to the people filled in the street.

Where the prairie dogs whine; next to the big Ponderosa pine.

From the horse filled pastures, to the cattle filled corrals.

With the sweet smell of hay and the Indian pow wows.

I am from campgrounds and horseback trails.

Where my Aunt Renee taught me to be strong and to always hold on.

To where my little sister was born and my baby brother three years later.

The state of the Boise Broncos whose blood runs blue and orange.

This is a place I call home, because family is what matters.

I am from spending summers in Idaho with my dad.

The hot, dry and flat, farm life of Boise,

Has chilled the inner core of my heart; by being desolate.

While even though pastures and corrals are present in its state

There is no passion within it, except that it is home.

I am from two different step-dads, that didn’t last long.

From a strong loving mother who tried her best and taught me to never give up.

I’ve witnessed my mom’s pain and was there for it all, we’ve fought together and stood tall.

My mom is my everything, my world and my life.

My mom is my strength, my courage and my strife.

I am from Washington.

Where the air smells like coffee and a little too much marijuana.

A place where the Pacific meets the Puget Sound.

Where the beaches are rocky and cold, and the number one problem is mold.

The state that bleeds blue and green, the home of the Seahawks.

I am from my best friend, my husband.

He keeps my head held high and my sorrows low.

In our little home, there’s a garden in the back and a project filled garage.

Where there lives one spoiled rotten dog and two lazy cats, life is perfect.

Cozying up by the fire place, book in hand, rain outside and not a worry on my mind.

“There are so many beautiful reasons to be happy.” -A

I am from the place called home,

The place where my family is and where I must go

The place where my heart is and my passion to grow.

The place where my soul is and what I must show

The place where I belong, the place I call home.


FEATURED POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page